//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Capes & Tights

This past Sunday afternoon, I joined some girlfriends of mine at the movies to see the latest addition to the X-Men franchise.  On a side note, the price of movies has gotten completely out of control.  AMC has monopolized the cinema industry, and is gouging our pockets most arrogantly.  The ticket alone was $10, and because I’m one of those people who has to be chomping on something while the action is heating up on screen, I had no choice but to drop THIRTEEN BUCKAROOS on a lightly-salted pretzel, a White Cherry Icee (because I don’t like the other flavors staining my teeth), and a pack of chocolate-covered raisins.  I was utterly flabbergasted by the prices.  But when you’re the only act in town, literally, you can afford to do that to your customers.

But I digress.  As I sat down, snacks in hand, to see the stories of the original X-Men unfold, I couldn’t help but watch with childlike glee and fascination.  Superhero movies, whether they be the impeccably actedThe Dark Knight or the surprisingly entertaining Kick Ass, hold a special place in my heart.  There is just something lovely about feeling ignorant of the world’s mounting and persistent corruption for two-and-a-half hours.  I have always been attracted to the idea that, no matter how thick the plot becomes in this genre of film, I can count on a few things:

  • The good guy will always get the good girl.  She won’t end up with some sleazeball with violent tendencies and alcoholism looming on the horizon.  She won’t get knocked up by some jailbird and be forced to raise her innocent offspring alone.  She won’t fall victim to the sweet talk of some shady, good-for-nothing who plans to turn her into a beaten up, forgotten, broken shell of the woman she once was.  She’ll end up with the good guy, the one with the perfect smile and the good intentions, the one she deserves to be with.
  • The good guy will always triumph over the bad one.   There won’t be any horror-film-esque cliffhangers at the end of superhero movies.  Even if they do hint at a sequel, you never have to question whether the good guy came out on top.  In real life, bad things happen to good people.  And justice is not always properly served.  In superhero movies, the right man always pays for the crime, and the good guy gets to walk away from the explosion looking all cool.
  • There will almost always be a sequel.  Like I mentioned before, many comic-book-based films end in some kind of suggested resurgence of the villain, but it’s only enough to get the audience wondering what will happen next.  I personally absolutely HATE endings.  I have trouble reading the final chapters of books, and I never watch season or series finales of my favorite television shows.  Endings are just not my thing.  With superhero movies, no matter how final the credits may seem, you know they’ve already begun work on the next one.  
I know I sound like a total nerd repeating over and over again in the movie theater, “I love superhero movies.”  But I just can’t help it.  They take me back to a time when my naiveté was my security blanket, before I realized that there was no age limit on death and that the world wouldn’t grant you nap time and animal crackers for free forever.  They allow me to feel like a kid again, and I absolutely wouldn’t trade even the coolest reputation for that feeling.  
About ciceflyyest

If I told you about myself right now, next week it would be a lie. I have so much to learn yet, so much to do, and so much to share.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

